Lost in Hong Kong

Well I’m back, and  after 10 days of heavily humidified walking, climbing, boating, biking, sightseeing, family-bonding and over-indulging I feel more ragged than when I left. But it was well worth it! Here are some photos and random observations from my time in Hong Kong:

The first thing to note is that Hong Kong loves plazas. I can’t stress this enough. There are almost more plazas than people. They are literally everywhere. If you were to fall from an airplane and land somewhere in Hong Kong, odds are you would land in a plaza. They are magnificent places with the most elaborate bathrooms you will ever use, but it is highly likely that you will lose several hours of your life trying to find an exit.

Image
Random giant robots (probably jaeger prototypes) guarding the entrance to a plaza

The next thing to note is that HK is distinctly less cutesy than Korea. And the more surprising revelation is that I was disappointed about that fact. Having spent the past 6 months in the Kingdom of Cute I’ve become accustomed to every object, surface and person being laminated in a glaze of hearts, kittens and kisses. During my trip I found myself questioning why the manufacturers of my various purchases hadn’t thought to include a cute poo or a baby panda on any part of their product.

HK kids aren’t as cute either. I’m not being biased. They just aren’t. Korean kids are the most adorable in the world.

Image
Children’s heads made from porcelain at the Museum of Art. Not so cute

Like the cute paraphernalia, I’ve grown to love the Konglish that abounds in Korea. The original interpretations of English spelling and grammar I see on signs and stationery on a daily basis are always entertaining and often inadvertently profound. Presumably because of its colonial history HK has far less misspelled/misplaced English about. A win for navigation but a loss for laughs.

Image
No Konglish here, sadly

Image

The food and drinks are more expensive in HK than in Korea (drinks in particular) but much tastier, tortoise jelly aside.

Image
Aydan surveys a hard-won view
Image
Hannah at Chi Lin Nunnery
Image
Blossoming tea at traditional tea ceremony
Image
Tai O, traditional fishing village on stilts
Image
Tian Tan Buddha
Image
Singing bird at Yuen Po Bird Garden
Image
Don’t be fooled by the seemingly tranquil and picturesque setting, it belies the herculean effort that it took for us to return our little boat to shore before the end of the rental period. It turns out that there is a, previously undiscovered, family disposition to suck at rowing a boat – a shortcoming that the welts on my hands and twinge in my side are attesting to several days later
Image
Our journey across Plover Cove Reservoir in a 4-person cycle-cart was moderately more successful than the boating expedition, however, we did still career into several posts while singing Disney ballads, almost ran over a couple of teens taking selfies and I personally sweated half of my body weight out of my forehead

 

 

5 thoughts on “Lost in Hong Kong

  1. Hey Lauren,

    Thanks for following my blog just now. I am going to check yours out too (probably tomorrow, I’m about to host a big housewarming party and people will be arriving in like ten minutes x).

    — Kait

Leave a Reply

